Aussie-Inspired Beauty Products

Aussie Products
Aussie inspired hair products

Last year whilst travelling in Australia for three months, I noticed that many beauty and hair products feature natural ingredients and scents native to the country. Being however that I was on a budget and that toiletries were so expensive for some reason, I didn’t get a chance to give them a go and stuck to the low-cost supermarket cheapies.

This doesn’t really matter now though, as to my delight, I discovered a few Australian- inspired bargains whilst browsing in my local Savers store last week!

Oz Botanics Shampoo and Conditioner
Oz Botanics Shampoo and Conditioner

Made in Oz Shampoo and Conditioner

Two of these bargains were ‘Made in Oz’ shampoo and conditioner which appear to be imitations of the well-known ‘Aussie’ brand. They contain extracts of Tasmanian blue gum and have a fruity, but not overpowering scent.  I wasn’t expecting great things as each bottle only cost £1 each, but to be honest, I think they could get away with being a bit more expensive.  After just one use, my hair felt really clean and it looked really glossy too.  I have used this a few times since buying it and it appears that it is not so harsh that it can’t be used every day.

Gumtree henna hair conditioner

Gumtree Henna Hair Conditioner

This hair treatment conditioner is BRILLIANT!  Again, it is only £1 and it comes in a 500ml tub so it will last for ages.

Although I don’t colour or bleach my hair, I find that the ends can sometimes get a bit dry from straightening or using the hair dryer.  This product is perfect for putting back any lost moisture and it makes your hair feel very clean and shiny.

The instructions recommend washing your hair and then towel-drying it before applying the conditioning mask.  I didn’t actually bother drying my hair and just used it whilst I was in the shower and I still think it worked really well.  It is recommended to leave it on for a few minutes though, so this isn’t one to use when you are late for work in the morning!

If you used this conditioner everyday

it may make your hair a bit greasy, but two or three times a month would be ideal if your hair is feeling a bit dull and lifeless.

Paw Paw Ointment
Paw Paw Ointment

Paw Paw Ointment 

Why this product is only now arriving in the UK, I’ll never know!  Technically this isn’t ‘Aussie inspired’, it is the real deal, born and bred down under.

Paw Paw ointment is made from fermented papaya and can be used for just about anything.  I use it primarily as a lip balm, but it can be used for things like blisters, burns, cuts, chafing, you name it.  It is a real Aussie favourite and so many people told me about it when I was over there.

I bought this particular tube when I was in Australia (I bought about four of them because I love it so much) but I have been told that you can buy a different brand of it in Urban Outfitters and it can be ordered in the UK on sites like Amazon. Whilst it is a relatively cheap product (about £7 a tube) It is still a lot more  expensive online than in Australia. I’m hoping that the more popular it becomes, the cheaper it will be.

Although several different brands make paw paw ointment, I have tried most of them and they all seem to be pretty similar and all do the same thing.  It is fab for chapped lips and I found that it is also good for putting on over lipstick to help make the colour last longer.

If you have never tried it, I’d recommend ordering some, or better still, if you know someone going on holiday to Australia, get them to bring you some back!

Are there any Aussie products that you have tried recently?  Leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

